Request a 2017 visitors guide

Children's Programs at Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center

Date

Jun 07, 2014 03:00 PM

Contact

(540) 373-6122

Address

Children's Programs at Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center

1013 Lafayette Boulevard

Fredericksburg VA 22408

Description

From June 7th through August 9th, children’s programs will be offered at the Fredericksburg Battlefield Visitor Center on Fridays and Saturdays at 11:00 AM.  These activities will last about one hour and are recommended for kids ages 6-12.  Come back and participate in all four different programs!  No registration is necessary, however groups should call in advance. Contact Peter_Maugle@nps.gov or (540) 373-6122.

Program Descriptions

Junior Ranger Walk – Earn a patch by completing several activities along the Sunken Road.

Soldier Life – Find out about the uniforms, equipment, and life of a Civil War soldier (includes marching and drilling with wooden muskets).

National Cemetery – Explore and discover the stories hidden behind the brick walls of the cemetery and of the soldiers buried there.

Flags and Signals – Learn why these banners were so important as symbols and for communication – also make your own flag!

Saturday, June 7 – Junior Ranger Walk
Friday, June 13 – Junior Ranger Walk  
Saturday, June 14 – Junior Ranger Walk
Friday, June 20 – Soldier Life  
Saturday, June 21 – Soldier Life  
Friday, June 27 – National Cemetery  
Saturday, June 28 – National Cemetery  
Friday, July 4 – Flags and Signals    
Saturday, July 5 – Flags and Signals
Friday, July 11 – Junior Ranger Walk  
Saturday, July 12 – Junior Ranger Walk
Friday, July 18 – Soldier Life  
Saturday, July 19 – Soldier Life  
Friday, July 25 – National Cemetery  
Saturday, July 26 – National Cemetery
Friday, August 1 – Flags and Signals  
Saturday, August 2 – Flags and Signals
Friday, August 8 – Junior Ranger Walk  
Saturday, August 9 – Junior Ranger Walk

Whats Happening Now